Middle School Learn Who Won Elementary School Learn Who Won

Elementary School
Writing Bee

For Grades 4 & 5

Nick Bruel

Author of the Bad Kitty
Series of childrens books

About bee nb

Congratulations to The 2019
Elementary School Champion:

Harvey Pemberton (United Kingdom) Male podium
Thanks to the support of Harvey's teacher:
Jonathan Corbett

Skeptical kitty

The Power of

This year's Elementary Bee focused on this theme and encouraged students to demonstrate bravery while exercising their creativity and sharing their work with peers.

The Qualifiers

During the school year in classrooms around the world, students independently wrote, read, and voted on follow on chapters to a story started by Nick Bruel. Winning submissions became the next chapter, and the process repeated until the story was completed.

Chapter winners from each classroom became eligible to compete in The Writing Bee Finals.

The Finals

Consisting of a ‘knockout’ style format with only chapter winners and top-tier getters eligible to advance to subsequent rounds, The Finals opened voting globally to all Writing Bee participants to steer the story and ultimately determine the contest winner!

Read the work of The Finals' section winners and our Champion below:

Chapter 1:
Written by: Nick Bruel
Chapter 2:
Written by: Harvey P. (UK)
Chapter 3:
Written by: James A. (USA)
Chapter 4:
Written by: Harvey P. (UK)
The 2019 Elementary School Writing Bee Champion:
Harvey P. (UK)

About Nick Bruel

About author nb

About Nick Bruel

Nick Bruel is the author and illustrator of the phenomenally successful Bad Kitty series, including the 2012 and 2013 CBC Children's Choice Book Award winners Bad Kitty Meets the Baby and Bad Kitty for President. He has also written and illustrated popular picture books including Who is Melvin Bubble?, Bob and Otto and A Wonderful Year. Nick lives with his wife and daughter in Westchester, New York.

Coming Soon

The 2020
Writing Bee

Classroom-based qualifying sessions begin in early fall, so register now to ensure your students' participation in this year's Writing Bee!